Ivor Novello Awards 2019

Another ceremony we missed was the 2019 Ivor Novello Awards, or “Ivors”. Intended to honour songwriters rather than performers, these never get a huge amount of attention, but occasionally someone or something of interest gets honoured.

The ceremony took place on the 23rd of May, at Grosvenor House in London.

Ivors Inspiration Award

Winner: Wiley

Best Song Musically and Lyrically

Nominated were:

  • Alex Turner (Arctic Monkeys) – Four Out of Five
  • Ben Howard – Nica Libres at Dusk
  • Hozier – Nina Cried Power

Winner: Ben Howard

Best Contemporary Song

The nominees:

  • Ghetts feat. Kojey Redical – Black Rose
  • Jorja Smith (with Guy Bonnet, Dizzee Rascal, and Roman Romanelli) – Blue Lights
  • The1975 – Love it if We Made it

Winner: The 1975

Outstanding Song Collection

Winner: Dido, who, by the way, is pretty much the only person on this list who I’ve heard of, which probably shows how out of touch I am these days…

PRS for Music Most Performed Work


  • Jax Jones feat. Ina Wroldsen – Breathe
  • George Ezra – Shotgun
  • Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore and Dan Caplen – These Days

Winner: Rudimental and friends

Jazz Award

Winner: Django Bates

Best Album


  • Young Fathers – Cocoa Sugar
  • Let’s Eat Grandma – I’m All Ears
  • Idles – Joy as an Act of Resistance

Winner: Idles

International Achievement

Winner: Deep Purple, Mark II — Ritchie Blackmore, Ian Gillan, Roger Glover, Jon Lord (posthumous) and Ian Paice

Outstanding Contribution to British Music

Winner: Richard Ashcroft

Best Original Video Game Score


  • Michael Georgiades, Joe Henson and Alexis Smith – Assassin’s Creed Odyssey
  • David Housden – Q.U.B.E. 2
  • Robin Bealand – Sea of Thieves

Winner: Sea of Thieves

Best Television Soundtrack


  • Arthur Sharpe – Flowers (Series 2)
  • Clint Mansell – Happy New Year, Colin Burstead
  • Natasha Khan and Dominik Scherrer – Requiem

Winner: Requiem

Best Original Film Score


  • Anne Nikitin – American Animals
  • Jonny Greenwood – Phantom Thread
  • Daniel Pemberton – Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse

Winner: Jonny Greenwood


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.