Ivor Novello Awards 2015

The 2015 Ivor Novello Awards represented, rather impressively, the sixtieth anniversary of the ceremony. They took place on Thursday 21st May 2015 at Grosvenor House in London.


PRS for Music Most Performed Work


  • George Ezra – Budapest
  • Clean Bandit feat. Jess Glynne – Rather Be
  • Sam Smith – Stay With Me


Winner: Clean Bandit feat. Jess Glynne

Best Television Soundtrack


  • Natalie Holt and Martin Phipps – The Honourable Woman
  • Samuel Sim – The Mill – Series 2
  • Edmund Butt – The Suspicions of Mr Whicher – Beyond the Pale

Winner: The Honourable Woman

Outstanding Song Collection

Winner: Albert Hammond

The Ivors Classical Music Award

Winner: Judith Weir

Album Award


  • Wild Beasts – Present Tense
  • Royal Blood – Royal Blood
  • Bombay Bicycle Club – So Long, See You Tomorrow

Winner: Bombay Bicycle Club

Best Song Musically and Lyrically

  • Bear’s Den – Above The Clouds Of Pompeii
  • Ben Howard – I Forget Where We Were
  • Hozier – Take Me To Church

Winner: Hozier

PRS for Music Outstanding Contribution to British Music

Winner: Boy George

Best Original Film Score


  • David Holmes – ‘71
  • Gary Yershon – Mr. Turner
  • Dario Marianelli – The Boxtrolls


Winner: ’71

Songwriter of the Year

Winner: Ed Sheeran

The Ivors Inspiration Award

Winner: Manic Street Preachers

Best Contemporary Song


  • Alt-J – Every Other Freckle
  • Clean Bandit feat. Jess Glynne – Rather Be
  • FKA Twigs – Two Weeks

Winner: Clean Bandit feat. Jess Glynne

The Ivors Special Anniversary Award

Winner: Bob Geldof and Midge Ure

Lifetime Achievement

Winner: Black Sabbath

PRS for Music Special International Award

Winner: Paul Williams

BASCA Fellowship

Winner: Annie Lennox

More here and here. You can also read about the 2014 ceremony here.

Mercury Music Prize 2010-2012

With the Barclaycard Mercury Prize winner being announced this evening it’s high time that we caught up to the modern day and looked at the last three prize winners. This was a period in which many fans started to suggest the committee might have lost it, and PJ Harvey became the first artist ever to win the coveted award twice.

Barclaycard Mercury Prize 2010

The 2010 award took place on 7th September 2010, at the Grosvenor House hotel, in central London.


  • Biffy Clyro – Only Revolutions
  • Corinne Bailey Rae – The Sea
  • Dizzee Rascal – Tongue ‘n’ Cheek
  • Foals – Total Life Forever
  • I Am Kloot – Sky at Night
  • Kit Downes Trio – Golden
  • Laura Marling – I Speak Because I Can
  • Mumford and Sons – Sigh No More
  • Villagers – Becoming a Jackal
  • Paul Weller – Wake Up the Nation
  • Wild Beasts – Two Dancers
  • The XX – XX

Winner: The XX

Barclaycard Mercury Prize 2011

Presented by Jools Holland on the 6th September 2011, at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London.


  • Adele – 21
  • Katy B – On a Mission
  • James Blake – James Blake
  • Anna Calvi – Anna Calvi
  • Elbow – Build a Rocket Boys!
  • Everything Everything – Man Alive
  • Ghostpoet – Peanut Butter Blues and Melancholy Jam
  • PJ Harvey – Let England Shake
  • King Creosote and Jon Hopkins – Diamond Mine
  • Metronomy – The English Riviera
  • Gwilym Simcock – Good Days at Schloss Elmau
  • Tinie Tempah – Disc-Overy

Winner: PJ Harvey

Barclaycard Mercury Prize 2012

As part of the new format, the award shifted back a couple of months and took place on 1st November 2012, at The Roundhouse, Camden.


  • Alt-J – An Awesome Wave
  • Django Django – Django Django
  • Field Music – Plumb
  • Richard Hawley – Standing at the Sky’s Edge
  • Ben Howard – Every Kingdom
  • Michael Kiwanuka – Home Again
  • Lianne La Havas – Is Your Love Big Enough?
  • Sam Lee – Ground of Its Own
  • The Maccabees – Given to the Wild
  • Plan B – Ill Manors
  • Roller Trio – Roller Trio
  • Jessie Ware – Devotion

Winner: Alt-J

Further information