Ivor Novello Awards 2016

The 2016 Ivor Novello Awards occurred on Thursday 19th May at Grosvenor House, in London.

PRS for Music Most Performed Work

  • James Bay – Hold Back The River
  • Jess Glynne – Hold My Hand
  • Years & Years – King

Winner: James Bay

Best Television Soundtrack

  • Stuart Earl – And Then There Were None
  • Edmund Butt – From Darkness
  • Keefus Ciancia and David Holmes – London Spy

Winner: London Spy

The Ivors Classical Music Award

Winner: Oliver Knussen

International Achievement

Winner: Wayne Hector

Best Song Musically and Lyrically

  • Ed Sheeran and Rudimental – Bloodstream
  • Wolf Alice – Bros
  • Jamie Lawson – Wasn’t Expecting That

Winner: Jamie Lawson

The Ivors Inspiration Award

Winner: Happy Mondays

Album Award


  • Villagers – Darling Arithmetic
  • Jamie xx – In Colour
  • Gaz Coombes – Matador

Winner: Villagers

Songwriter of the Year

Winner: Adele

Best Original Film Score

  • Geoff Barrow and Ben Salisbury – Ex_Machina
  • John Powell – Pan
  • Faris Badwan and Rachel Zeffira – The Duke of Burgundy

Winner: Ex_Machina

Best Contemporary Song

  • Snakehips feat. Tinashe & Chance the Rapper – All My Friends
  • Roots Manuva – Cargo
  • Skepta – Shutdown

Winner: Snakehips feat. Tinashe & Chance the Rapper

Outstanding Song Collection

Winner: Simple Minds

PRS for Music Outstanding Contribution to British Music

Winner: Portishead

Lifetime Achievement

Winner: Damon Albarn

PRS for Music Special International Award

Winner: Bryan Adams

More here and here.

Barclaycard Mercury Music Prize 2013

Drawing Awards Autumn to a close is the last in our series of posts about the Mercury Music Prize (as it’s really called). The ceremony took place on Wednesday evening. Let’s look at the nominees again:

  • Arctic Monkeys – AM
  • James Blake – Overgrown
  • David Bowie – The Next Day
  • Jake Bugg – Jake Bugg
  • Disclosure – Settle
  • Foals – Holy Fire
  • Jon Hopkins – Immunity
  • Laura Marling – Once I Was an Eagle
  • Laura Mvula – Sing to the Moon
  • Rudimental – Home
  • Savages – Silence Yourself
  • Villagers – {Awayland}

And the winner is James Blake. Don’t worry, I’ve never heard of him either, but apparently his album includes a collaboration with Brian Eno, which should be more than enough to make it worth hearing.

Speaking of music industry legends, isn’t it about time we started complaining about how David Bowie was snubbed, as his album was clearly best? If all else fails we could just wax lyrical about how this award has become over-commercialised like everything these days, and it definitely isn’t as good as it used to be.

Here’s some press coverage from the event:

  • Channel 4 News, who were so sure that Laura Mvula had own that they interviewed her in advance to save time
  • Digital Spy, who still think David Bowie should have won anyway

Mercury Music Prize 2010-2012

With the Barclaycard Mercury Prize winner being announced this evening it’s high time that we caught up to the modern day and looked at the last three prize winners. This was a period in which many fans started to suggest the committee might have lost it, and PJ Harvey became the first artist ever to win the coveted award twice.

Barclaycard Mercury Prize 2010

The 2010 award took place on 7th September 2010, at the Grosvenor House hotel, in central London.


  • Biffy Clyro – Only Revolutions
  • Corinne Bailey Rae – The Sea
  • Dizzee Rascal – Tongue ‘n’ Cheek
  • Foals – Total Life Forever
  • I Am Kloot – Sky at Night
  • Kit Downes Trio – Golden
  • Laura Marling – I Speak Because I Can
  • Mumford and Sons – Sigh No More
  • Villagers – Becoming a Jackal
  • Paul Weller – Wake Up the Nation
  • Wild Beasts – Two Dancers
  • The XX – XX

Winner: The XX

Barclaycard Mercury Prize 2011

Presented by Jools Holland on the 6th September 2011, at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London.


  • Adele – 21
  • Katy B – On a Mission
  • James Blake – James Blake
  • Anna Calvi – Anna Calvi
  • Elbow – Build a Rocket Boys!
  • Everything Everything – Man Alive
  • Ghostpoet – Peanut Butter Blues and Melancholy Jam
  • PJ Harvey – Let England Shake
  • King Creosote and Jon Hopkins – Diamond Mine
  • Metronomy – The English Riviera
  • Gwilym Simcock – Good Days at Schloss Elmau
  • Tinie Tempah – Disc-Overy

Winner: PJ Harvey

Barclaycard Mercury Prize 2012

As part of the new format, the award shifted back a couple of months and took place on 1st November 2012, at The Roundhouse, Camden.


  • Alt-J – An Awesome Wave
  • Django Django – Django Django
  • Field Music – Plumb
  • Richard Hawley – Standing at the Sky’s Edge
  • Ben Howard – Every Kingdom
  • Michael Kiwanuka – Home Again
  • Lianne La Havas – Is Your Love Big Enough?
  • Sam Lee – Ground of Its Own
  • The Maccabees – Given to the Wild
  • Plan B – Ill Manors
  • Roller Trio – Roller Trio
  • Jessie Ware – Devotion

Winner: Alt-J

Further information

Barclaycard Mercury Music Prize 2013 – Nominations

They used to keep us in suspense throughout the summer, but these days the Mercury Music Prize nominations turn up in early September, with the final award announced at the end of October.

To celebrate, this blog will spend the next few Saturdays counting down to this year’s ceremony by looking at the nominees, winners, and coverage from previous years. In the meantime, here’s a list of the potential winners for 2013:

  • Arctic Monkeys – AM
  • James Blake – Overgrown
  • David Bowie – The Next Day
  • Jake Bugg – Jake Bugg
  • Disclosure – Settle
  • Foals – Holy Fire
  • Jon Hopkins – Immunity
  • Laura Marling – Once I Was an Eagle
  • Laura Mvula – Sing to the Moon
  • Rudimental – Home
  • Savages – Silence Yourself
  • Villagers – {Awayland}

You have to agree, that’s a pretty good list. There are a few notable omissions, but also a lot of very eligible albums. I’m not sure I want to advise you where to put your money, but personally I think David Bowie would be a well-deserved winner – as would Jon Hopkins. We’ll find out who wins on October 30th, and discuss the outcomes on this blog a couple of days later.