Greatest Hits 2020

Happy New Year! To celebrate, here are ten reviews from the last few years that you might have missed:

Chart for stowaways – 22 September 2018

Here are the latest top singles!

  1. Ladytron – The Island
  2. The Future Sound of London – My Kingdom
  3. Tiefschwarz – Never
  4. The Radiophonic Workshop – Burials in Several Earths
  5. Electribe 101 – Talking with Myself 
  6. Ladytron – The Animals
  7. The Future Sound of London – Collapsed Structures
  8. Tiësto / Dzeko / Preme / Post Malone – Jackie Chan
  9. David Bowie – Zeroes
  10. Keep Shelly In Athens – Our Own Dream – EP

Chart for stowaways – 19 March 2016

These are the top singles of the week:

  1. Pet Shop Boys – The Pop Kids
  2. Massive Attack – Ritual Spirit EP
  3. Jean-Michel Jarre – Remix EP (II)
  4. Pet Shop Boys – Inner Sanctum
  5. Goldfrapp – Stranger
  6. New Order feat. Elly Jackson – Tutti Frutti
  7. Keep Shelly in Athens – In Love with Dusk – EP
  8. Massive Attack, Tricky & 3D – Take it There
  9. Conjure One feat. Hannah Ray – Kill the Fear
  10. Tiësto / Heldens / La Rose – The Right Song

Retro chart for stowaways – 28 April 2012

Just a couple of months before this blog launched, Gotye had just grabbed his first hit, entering at number 8 with Somebody That I Used to Know, and the album chart looked like this:

  1. Shit Robot – From the Cradle to the Rave
  2. Vince Clarke – Deeptronica
  3. Family Fantastic – Nice!
  4. Computer Magic – Kitsuné: Orion – EP
  5. VCMG – Ssss
  6. Gotye – Making Mirrors
  7. Various Artists – Electroclash
  8. Keep Shelly in Athens – Our Own Dream – EP
  9. Keep Shelly in Athens – In Love with Dusk – EP
  10. 808 State – Web Build

Keep Shelly in Athens – Our Own Dream

You may not have come across them before, but the curiously named Keep Shelly in Athens are a Greek two-piece at the forefront of what cool people like to cool “chillwave”. Our Own Dream was the second of three EPs to date, but as always I’m a bit behind so that’s what we’ll look at today.

Lazy Noon is the first track, washing in with the sound of waves breaking on the shoreline, and building into a gentle chilled out track with plenty in common with the likes of Air and Zero 7. It’s soft, beautiful, and really a rather excellent track.

Second is the title track Our Own Dream, still very soft, but this time with a slightly harsher, more electronic edge, plodding on rather wonderfully like some kind of musical elephant. The middle section, where it arrives, is a total triumph.

The third track is a remix, not of Keep Shelly in Athens, but by them, remixing a track called California Birds by ABADABAD. It lacks the abstract beauty of the first couple of tracks, but it’s still pretty strong. A seeming trademark of throwing the whole thing into disarray at the end of the track is particularly noticeable on this one, ending as it does with what sounds like a nasty bit of skipping.

Apparently their name comes from a mispronunciation of a district in Athens, and they gathered a bit of a cult following thanks to the internet a couple of years ago. I was lucky enough to see them live last year too, and they were really very good indeed.

Track four is a piano-sample-driven track entitled DIY, which throbs along very nicely, but it’s Fairytale which really grabs your attention with its somewhat electro-Tomorrow’s World introduction and enormous snares. The vocal is particularly beautiful on this one, although as with many artists of this kind it’s buried well amongst the music, so you’d be hard pushed to work out what she’s singing about.

For the final track you get two for the price of one, the pairing of The Rogue Superhero and Ready to Pay the Price. Together, they make for a great pop track, opening with some hip hop scratching, and building into the much harsher guitar-driven second track towards the end.

If you’ve got 25 minutes to spare, listening to Our Own Dream is a very pleasant way to spend it. Browse the band’s back catalogue on iTunes and make your own mind up – I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised.

Our Own Dream EP can be found on iTunes here.

The Stowaway Awards 2013 – Nominations

Awards season is upon us! To celebrate, here are the nominations for our own ceremony, the Stowaway Awards. You already know the results of the Best Track thanks to our countdown the other week, so we’ll just cover the exciting awards.

Best Album

Last year’s winner was Credo by The Human League. The nominees:

  • Air – Le Voyage dans la Lune
  • Apollo 440 – The Future’s What it Used to Be
  • Delerium – Music Box Opera
  • Hot Chip – In Our Heads
  • Metroland – Mind the Gap
  • Pet Shop Boys – Elysium
  • The Presets – Pacifica
  • Saint Etienne – Words and Music by Saint Etienne
  • Sébastien Tellier – My God is Blue
  • Soulsavers – The Light the Dead See

Best Remix

Last year’s winner was Personal Jesus (The Stargate Mix) by Depeche Mode. The nominees:

  • Gossip – Move in the Right Direction (CSS Remix)
  • Jean Michel Jarre – La Cage (Vitalic Rmx)
  • Ladyhawke – Blue Eyes (Ron Flieger Remix)
  • Tycho – Dive (Keep Shelly in Athens Remix)
  • Van She – Jamaica (Mad Professor Dub)

Best Live Act

Last year’s winners were Sparks. The nominees:

  • Gotye
  • Justice
  • Keep Shelly in Athens
  • M83
  • Madness

Best Newcomer

Last year’s winner was Kavinsky. The nominees:

  • Bim
  • The Good Natured
  • Gotye
  • Metroland
  • Soulsavers

Best Artist

Last year’s winners were The Human League. The nominees:

  • Apollo 440
  • Hot Chip
  • I Monster
  • Metroland
  • Pet Shop Boys
  • The Presets
  • Saint Etienne
  • Sébastien Tellier
  • Shit Robot
  • Soulsavers

The full and exciting ceremony will take place in mid-February. Next week, we’ll start looking in detail at what’s been going on at the Brit Awards.