The BRIT Awards 2010

The 2010 BRIT Awards were hosted by Peter Kay at Earls Court, in London, on Tuesday 16th February. Complicatedly, this was the thirtieth ceremony, although not the thirtieth anniversary, but this was celebrated by the special Brits Hits 30 award.

This post is part of a series about the history of the BRIT Awards. You can read about the 2009 ceremony here, and the 2011 ceremony next time.

MasterCard British Album

Presented by Tom Ford. Nominees:

  • Lily Allen – It’s Not Me, It’s You
  • Dizzee Rascal – Tongue ‘n’ Cheek
  • Florence + The Machine – Lungs
  • Kasabian – West Ryder Pauper Lunatic Asylum
  • Paolo Nutini – Sunny Side Up

Winner: Florence + The Machine

British Single

Voted for by listeners of UK commercial radio and readers of The Sun, and presented by Alan Carr. Nominees:

  • Lily Allen – The Fear
  • Alexandra Burke feat. Flo Rida – Bad Boys
  • Cheryl Cole – Fight for This Love
  • Taio Cruz – Break Your Heart
  • Alesha Dixon – Breathe Slow
  • JLS – Beat Again
  • La Roux – In for the Kill
  • Pixie Lott – Mama Do (Uh Oh, Uh Oh)
  • Joe McElderry – The Climb
  • Tinchy Stryder feat. N-Dubz – Number 1

Winner: JLS

British Male Solo Artist

Presented by Andy Serkis. Nominees:

  • Dizzee Rascal
  • Calvin Harris
  • Mika
  • Paolo Nutini
  • Robbie Williams

Winner: Dizzee Rascal

British Female Solo Artist

Presented by Shirley Bassey. Nominees:

  • Lily Allen
  • Bat for Lashes
  • Florence + The Machine
  • Leona Lewis
  • Pixie Lott

Winner: Lily Allen

British Group

Presented by Idris Elba. Nominees:

  • Doves
  • Friendly Fires
  • JLS
  • Kasabian
  • Muse

Winner: Kasabian

British Breakthrough Act

Presented by Geri Halliwell. Nominees:

  • Florence + The Machine
  • Friendly Fires
  • JLS
  • La Roux
  • Pixie Lott

Winner: JLS

International Male Solo Artist

Presented by Melanie Brown. Nominees:

  • Michael Bublé
  • Eminem
  • Jay Z
  • Bruce Springsteen
  • Seasick Steve

Winner: Jay Z

International Female Solo Artist

Presented by Jonathan Ross. Nominees:

  • Lady Gaga
  • Ladyhawke
  • Norah Jones
  • Rihanna
  • Shakira

Winner: Lady Gaga

International Breakthrough Act

Presented by Cat Deeley. Nominees:

  • Animal Collective
  • Empire of the Sun
  • Lady Gaga
  • Daniel Merriweather
  • Taylor Swift

Winner: Lady Gaga

International Album

Presented by Mika. Nominees:

  • Animal Collective – Merriweather Post Pavilion
  • The Black Eyed Peas – The E.N.D.
  • Empire of the Sun – Walking on a Dream
  • Jay-Z – The Blueprint 3
  • Lady Gaga – The Fame

Winner: Lady Gaga

Critics Choice

Presented by Courtney Love. Nominees:

  • Delphic
  • Ellie Goulding
  • Marina and the Diamonds

Winner: Ellie Goulding

Outstanding Contribution to Music

Winner: Robbie Williams

BRITs Hits 30 – Best Live Performance at the BRIT Awards

Voted for by viewers of GMTV, and presented by Samantha Fox. The year of each original performance is shown below. Nominees:

  • Bee Gees – Stayin’ Alive / How Deep Is Your Love (1997)
  • Bros – I Owe You Nothing (1989)
  • Coldplay – Clocks (2003)
  • Eurythmics and Stevie Wonder – There Must Be an Angel (Playing with My Heart) (1999)
  • Girls Aloud – The Promise (2009)
  • Michael Jackson – Earth Song (1996)
  • Paul McCartney and Wings – Live and Let Die (2008)
  • Kylie Minogue – Can’t Get You Out of My Head (2002)
  • Pet Shop Boys – Go West (1994)
  • Scissor Sisters – Take Your Mama (2005)
  • Spice Girls – Wannabe / Who Do You Think You Are (1997)
  • Take That – The Beatles Medley (1994)
  • Kanye West – Gold Digger (2006)
  • The Who – Who Are You (1977)
  • Robbie Williams and Tom Jones – The Full Monty Medley (1998)

Winner: Spice Girls

BRITs Album of 30 Years

Voted for by listeners of BBC Radio 2, and presented by Noddy Holder from Slade. Nominees:

  • Coldplay – A Rush of Blood to the Head
  • Phil Collins – No Jacket Required
  • Dido – No Angel
  • Dire Straits – Brothers in Arms
  • Duffy – Rockferry
  • Keane – Hopes and Fears
  • Oasis – (What’s the Story) Morning Glory?
  • Sade – Diamond Life
  • Travis – The Man Who
  • The Verve – Urban Hymns

Winner: Oasis


Further Reading / Viewing

Ivor Novello Awards 2014

The 59th Ivor Novello Awards ceremony quietly took place on 22nd May at Grosvenor House in London.

PRS for Music Most Performed Work

Which is an oddly named award until you realise that “PRS for Music” is what the sponsoring organisation calls itself these days. Nominees:

  • Emeli Sandé – Clown (Shahid “Naughty Boy” Khan / Grant Mitchell / Emeli Sandé)
  • Passenger – Let Her Go (Mike Rosenberg)
  • Olly Murs feat. Flo Rida – Troublemaker (Claude Kelly / Oliver Murs / Steve Robson)

Winner: Passenger / Mike Rosenberg

The Ivors Classical Music Award

Winner: John McCabe

Best Television Soundtrack


  • Mr. Selfridge (Charlie Mole)
  • Ripper Street (Dominik Scherrer)
  • The Thirteenth Tale (Benjamin Wallfisch)

Winner: Charlie Mole for Ripper Street

Best Contemporary Song


  • Everything Everything – Kemosabe (Jonathan Higgs / Jeremy Pritchard / Alexander Robertshaw / Michael Spearman)
  • Disclosure feat. Sam Smith – Latch (Guy Lawrence / Howard Lawrence / James Napier / Sam Smith)
  • James Blake – Retrograde (James Blake)

Winner: James Blake

International Achievement

Winner: Mumford & Sons

Best Original Film Score


  • Captain Phillips (Henry Jackman)
  • Gravity (Steven Price)
  • The Epic of Everest (Simon Fisher Turner)

Winner: Simon Fisher Turner

The Ivors Inspiration Award

Winner: Jerry Dammers

Album Award


  • Arctic Monkeys – AM (Alex Turner)
  • Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Push the Sky Away (Nick Cave / Warren Ellis)
  • Laura Mvula – Sing to the Moon (Laura Mvula)

Winner: Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds

PRS for Music Outstanding Contribution to British Music

Winner: Jeff Beck

Best Song Musically and Lyrically


  • Palma Violets – Best of Friends (Will Doyle / Sam Fryer / Chilli Jesson / Pete Mayhew)
  • John Newman – Love Me Again (Steve Booker / John Newman)
  • London Grammar – Strong (Dominic Major / Hannah Reid / Daniel Rothman)

Winner: London Grammar

Songwriter of the Year

Winner: Tom Odell

Outstanding Song Collection

Winner: The Chemical Brothers

Lifetime Achievement

Winner: Christine McVie

PRS for Music Special International Award

Winner: Nile Rodgers

Visit the official Ivor Novello Awards website here, and you can see my summary of last year’s awards here.