Greatest Hits – Vol. 7

As we worm our way gently into 2016, it’s time to highlight a few reviews from this blog that you might well have missed.

See also, Volume 6, Volume 5, and you can probably find the rest for yourself with a quick search…

Dusted – Safe from Harm

In 2005, five years after it had originally been released, Dusted performed a makeover on their album When We Were Young, and reissued it as Safe from Harm. We’re just a handful of weeks after the fifteenth anniversary of the original album, which makes it a decade since the reissue, and an ideal moment to take a listen.

New opener In the Beginning starts with the sound of a baby crying, which can be a little overused in music sometimes, but here, on an album about the journey of childhood, it’s entirely appropriate.

The driving force behind Dusted is Rollo, most famously from Faithless, and so it’s entirely apt that his sister Dido turns up to lead the vocals on Time Takes Time, a beautiful song which stood out on the original album, but here is magnificent. In fact, all the way through this album we’re blessed by extremely strong vocal performances.

DIdo stays on for Hurt U as well, but it’s difficult to remember that once the exquisite Always Remember to Respect and Honour Your Mother (Part 1) begins. Released as a single in early 2000, with a serene and ethereal animated video, it remains one of the most beautiful songs of the last couple of decades. If you aren’t touched by this, there really is something wrong with you.

Whereas When We Were Young had a few minor blips, the quality on Safe from Harm really doesn’t relent. But it’s best viewed as a single entity, rather than a group of songs – pieces like Rest are lovely, but you’re not likely to listen to them outside of the album context.

Biggest Fool in the World brings another fantastic vocal, and then Always Remember to Respect and Honour Your Mother (Part 2) follows, an instrumental driven by pounding beats and a spoken word section. Then Winter, a deep, atmospheric piece, with another fine vocal performance from Dido.

Oscar Song and In Memoriam both have their place, but are probably about as close as this album comes to filler, and even that would be a pretty unfair word to use here. Under the Sun and If I Had a Child are both exceptional songs – it’s hard to find any more superlatives for them at this point, but both really are very good indeed.

And that’s about it – unless you leave the CD playing a little longer, and come across the hidden bonus track, which I suspect ought to be called I Am a Monster (Discogs suggests it’s actually called A Typical Monster Song, but offers no evidence for this). It has very little to do with the rest of the album, but it’s a fun epilogue nonetheless.

So Safe from Harm may be a remake of an earlier album, but while both are good, Safe from Harm really took it to another level. It’s an exceptional album, and perhaps one day Dusted will come back for another go. If we’re lucky.

You can still find Safe from Harm at all major retailers.

Music for the Masses 36 – 16 March 2005

Show 36 was the last before the three week Easter break, and would see Music for the Masses in its springtime Wednesday slot for the last time. Actually, it could have even been the last outing of the show, as the post-holiday scheduling shakeup always meant a few shows dropped out. Fortunately – or unfortunately – it lived on to die another day, this week with New Order as the Artist of the Week.

webcame4webcame1 webcame2 webcame3

Show 36: Wed 16 Mar 2005, from 6:05pm-8:00pm

Broadcast on LSR FM, online only. Artist of the week: New Order.

  • Chicane – No Ordinary Morning
  • Veto Silver – Neon Lites
  • Mory Kante – Yeke Yeke (Hardfloor Mix)
  • Sylver – Who Am I?
  • Andy Pickford – Zweifarbig Bomber (Part 2)
  • Télépopmusik – Don’t Look Back
  • New Order – Blue Monday
  • Alizée – Moi… Lolita
  • Ladytron – Seventeen
  • Daft Punk – Robot Rock
  • Vic Twenty – I Sold Your Heart on eBay
  • Black Box Recorder – The Facts of Life
  • Annie – Always Too Late
  • New Order – True Faith
  • Depeche Mode – Only When I Lose Myself
  • Dusted – Always Remember to Honour and Respect Your Mother (Part 2)
  • Basement Jaxx – Good Luck
  • Komputer – Looking Down on London
  • Marvin the Paranoid Android – Marvin
  • New Order – Krafty
  • Lemon Jelly – Come Down on Me
  • Lionrock – Rude Boy Rock

Music for the Masses 28 – 29 November 2004

By late November 2004, Music for the Masses had settled into a comfortable rhythm – so much so, in fact, that I was largely forgetting to do silly things every time the webcam went off – the only highlight this week involved me waving my arms around a bit.

webcam83webcam82 webcam81 webcam84

Show 28: Mon 29 Nov 2004, from 6:05pm-8:00pm

Broadcast on LSR FM, online only. Artist of the week: The Future Sound of London.

  • Bent – An Ordinary Day
  • Dusted – Always Remember to Respect & Honour Your Mother (Part 1)
  • White Town – Panoptican
  • Massive Attack – Teardrop
  • Voodoo Child – Light is in Your Eyes
  • Gotan Project – Queremos Paz
  • The Future Sound of London – Papua New Guinea
  • Orbital – The Box
  • Asana – Signals
  • Grace – If I Could Fly
  • Lemon Jelly – Stay with You
  • The Future Sound of London – Cascade
  • Death in Vegas – Dirge
  • Client feat. Carl Barât – Pornography
  • Dario G – Sunchyme
  • Jam & Spoon feat. Rea – Be Angeled
  • Erasure – Breathe
  • Electronic – Freefall
  • Goldbug – Whole Lotta Love
  • Leftfield – Dusted
  • The Future Sound of London – My Kingdom

Christmas for stowaways


Merry Christmas. Or “Happy Holidays” if you think that somehow wishing non-Christians a merry Christmas is supposed to be offensive.

I won’t share anything completely new here, but why not take a spin through the Christmas countdown from last year?

You might also enjoy Erasure‘s Gaudete, which I shared a couple of weeks ago, or the review of their Crackers International EP from last week. Or Saint Etienne‘s lovely Through the Winter from a few days ago, or even Proper Chrimbo, which we revisited a day or two ago.

Dusted – Always Remember to Respect and Honour Your Mother (Part 1)

As we edge our way towards Christmas, it’s time for the last of the selection of animated videos. This is from Dusted, originally released on When We Were Young at the end of 2000, then as a single in its own right in early 2001, and then later on their rethought – and vastly superior album Safe from Harm (2005), this is Always Remember to Respect and Honour Your Mother (Part 1):

A Christmas Countdown – Dusted

One of these days we’ll get around to reviewing Dusted‘s breathtaking 2005 album Safe from Harm, or maybe its predecessor When We Were Young (2000). But for now, we’ll go with this.

I know we’ve already had something called Winter on this chart. That one was gloomy and atmospheric. This one is deep and beautiful, and it has the lovely Dido singing on it too. Yes, she might have had a fairly lousy solo career, but when she worked with her brother Rollo out of Faithless she always proved to be an exceptional singer.

Number five on our Christmas countdown is Winter by Dusted: