Random jukebox – Lamb

Last time, we had a song called Every Night I Say a Prayer, and this time we’ll go to Heaven, by Lamb:

Shit Robot – We Got a Love

A belated review of Shit Robot‘s second album is only timely now because he just reappeared with his third, so this is a good opportunity to reappraise We Got a Love. When I first heard it, I was underwhelmed after the charming sound of From the Cradle to the Rave (2010), so let’s see if that’s still true.

It opens with a nice plodding dance piece, The Secret. Shit Robot always builds his music slowly, and this one builds into a pleasant disco track after a few minutes. And this is, as it turns out, the way things are on this release. Where the previous one would suddenly surprise you with Take ‘Em Up or Answering Machine, this one plods along nicely, but never really charms you.

It doesn’t help that a couple of the tracks are almost identically named. Do That Dance is great, and honestly not too far from the standard of the first album; Do It (Right) is perhaps a little further away.

This isn’t a particularly easy album to review, all told – and not because there’s anything particularly wrong with it. Quite the opposite, in fact – it washes across your ears entirely pleasantly, but it doesn’t really feel like a worthy follow-up to From the Cradle to the Rave.

Feels Real is a nice disco piece, but ultimately it’s a little forgettable again, but then we get Space Race, originally released as a b-side a couple of years earlier. Ironically, although perhaps not too surprisingly, it’s better than anything else on here.

Space Race is an instrumental piece, with darker electronica undertones at times. It’s fairly simple, and fits nicely on here, but it seems to stand out somehow just by virtue of being a little bit catchier than most of its neighbours.

After that, things seem a little more positive – Feels Like starts off nicely, although after a minute or so it builds into another slightly dull electro-disco piece. Title track We Got a Love is fairly anonymous too, another one with a disco “vibe” and a waily vocal from Reggie Watts.

Finally, we get a particularly long and – at least initially – fairly dull instrumental titled Tempest, and the second album is over. All in all, I can’t help but see We Got a Love as something of a disappointment. Maybe the collaborators weren’t quite right this time around, maybe it’s another case of a “difficult second album,” or maybe a spark was missing. Whatever the reason, hopefully it’s come back for the third album.

You can still find We Got a Love from major retailers.

Chart for stowaways – 11 June 2016

Here are the singles this week:

  1. Pet Shop Boys – The Pop Kids
  2. Jean-Michel Jarre & Pet Shop Boys – Brick England
  3. Jean-Michel Jarre – The Heart of Noise
  4. Pet Shop Boys – Twenty-Something
  5. Massive Attack – Ritual Spirit EP
  6. Jean-Michel Jarre – Remix EP (II)
  7. Electribe 101 – Talking with Myself
  8. Pet Shop Boys – Sad Robot World
  9. I Monster – The uncertain contents of the BUCHLA box
  10. David Bowie – TVC

Four years of stowaways – year four

And so we reach the present day, by starting a sentence with the word “and”, which is probably a very bad thing.

When I started this blog back in 2012, I really had a number of aims: to force myself to write more; to listen more to the music I already owned; to find more new music; and I don’t remember what else. I’ve reviewed over three hundred different albums, and the backlog never seems to end.

I’m sure I’ll get bored eventually, just as I imagine most of the people reading it have by now, but for now, let’s come together and enjoy some nakedness from 1993:

Four years of stowaways – year three

I’m not sure I ever quite expected this blog to last this long, and honestly I’ve no idea how much longer it will last, but as we enter its fifth year, here are some musings on year three. It does feel as though I’m writing a lot more about the past now, and a lot less about the present, which is either a reflection of my age, or it could be something to do with how modern music is all just “boom boom” and you can’t whistle the melody. Either way, sometimes you just need a reminder of how good things used to be…