Some recommendations (from 2004)

Another post from my personal archives, published on my old website on 24th March 2004. A decade on, I still haven’t seen The Beach, only I no longer have a video player, which is quite a good excuse.

Firstly, films. I’ve been catching up on some of the things I recorded over Christmas, so I can now officially recommend Galaxy Quest, which I’d heard absolutely nothing about before I saw it, but it’s highly enjoyable. Plunkett & Macleane is quite good too, mixing 90s gansta films with the old highwayman legends. And among others, I’ve still got The Beach to watch, which I recorded last summer some time…

I’m currently in the middle of two books: George Orwell‘s The Road to Wigan Pier, which is good and highly recommended, and a book about global warming by someone called Paul Brown (the book’s called Global Warming, rather imaginitively [sic]). How very studious…

Finally, music. The latest Air album, Talkie Walkie is wonderful, and I saw them live in February, where they were very good, even in spite of having to play in Birmingham. Also, I came across a wonderful compilation from last autumn lurking in a bargain bin, called Robopop Vol. 1, which features tracks by White TownKomputer, Client, Vic Twenty and Spray (formerly the Cuban Boys), among many others. Additionally, the last Sparks album Lil’ Beethoven is out again with extra tracks on it, and it’s really rather good.

There’s not been a lot of decent TV recently, except an interesting docu-drama on the Stephen Downing case, from which I learnt that Bakewell is a hotbed of criminal activity, where everyone talks with a Yorkshire accent. Interesting.

Leave a Reply

