Music for the Masses 3 – 1 December 1999

History doesn’t record who Phil and Mary-Jane were, although as I recall their “thing” was to argue live on air, in addition to apparently destroying the studio while broadcasting, neither of which are likely to make particularly good listening. But these were early days on Bay Radio.

show3br

Tracks played on the third show, Wed 1 Dec 1999, from 1pm-3pm

Tracks taken from the playlist (Total 7 tracks). A indicates A-list (6 tracks); B indicates B-list (0 tracks) and C indicates C-list (1 track). S indicates the Single of the Week. R indicates tracks taken from my own collection (Total 10 tracks). L indicates tracks I snatched at random in the vain hope of impressing people (Total 8 tracks).

  • 1. Beastie Boys “Alive” A
  • 2. Primal Scream “Swastika Eyes” L
  • 3. Dubstar “It’s Over” R
  • 4. Robbie Williams “She’s the One” C
  • 5. Olive “You’re Not Alone” R
  • 6. Chicane “Saltwater” L
  • 7. Pet Shop Boys “Closer to Heaven” R
  • 8. William Orbit “Barber’s Adagio for Strings” (Ferry Corsten Remix) L
  • [Advert Break]
  • 9. Grid “Diablo” (The Devil Rides Out Mix) R
  • 10. Garbage “The World is Not Enough” A
  • 11. Murry the Hump “Colouring Book” S
  • 12. Catatonia “Londinium” L
  • [News Break]
  • 13. Suede “She’s in Fashion” L
  • 14. Electronic “Get the Message” R
  • 15. Beloved “Deliver Me” (Salt City Vocal) R
  • 16. Amar “Red Sky” A
  • 17. Kraftwerk “Pocket Calculator” R
  • 18. Yazoo “Nobody’s Diary” R
  • 19. O.D.B. “Got Your Money” A
  • 20. Offspring “She’s Got Issues” A
  • [Advert Break]
  • 21. Ace of Base “Beautiful Life” R
  • 22. Eiffel 65 “Blue (Da Ba Dee)” L
  • 23. Peach “From this Moment On” R
  • 24. Groove Armada “I See You Baby” (Full Frontal Mix) A
  • 25. New Order “Touched by the Hand of God” (Biff & Memphis Remix) R

Producer: None.

Notes: Well this was just plain bizarre. Probably the best show I’ve done yet, but still bizarre. Basically, Phil and Mary-Jane, who are normally after me on Wednesday afternoons, elected to swap with me for one week only, and I obliged. So, I arrived in the studio at about 12.45, to find the studio in complete disarray, with CDs scattered everywhere. The line-in input for CD2 was hanging out of its socket (so presumably they had been broadcasting in mono all morning) – which made it impossible to check levels until I plugged it back in. I couldn’t work out which microphone I was using, so for the first link had to turn them both right up… and then there was another thing. When I arrived, I discovered that the people before me had very kindly played all my tracks off the playlist, so I had nothing to play. I eventually arranged with someone who was kind of in charge, to play most of the tracks off the A-list and the single of the week, which left me with quite a lot to fill. Fortunately I was, of sorts, prepared for this (as boy scouts always are), and duly played loads of bizarre remixes and obscure dance tracks. Whether the open day visitors really appreciated this is debatable, but I did get one “What was that last track?” and one request, so it can’t really have been too dire. Well, not really. The lessons to learn from this are, firstly, never to do a show after Phil and Mary-Jane, and secondly, that it probably isn’t a good idea to do a section in which Yazoo follow on from Kraftwerk. They worked well together, but it suddenly dawned on me half way through, that 1983 was quite a long time ago. Eeeh well, we live and learn. Hopefully.

One thought on “Music for the Masses 3 – 1 December 1999

  1. Pingback: The Complete Music for the Masses – 1999-2002 | Music for stowaways

Leave a Reply

