Barclaycard Mercury Music Prize 2014

For the final post in what I accidentally seem to have christened Awards Autumn, let’s find out who won the 2014 Mercury Music Prize. The ceremony took place just a few days ago at The Roundhouse in the north of London.

Let’s begin by looking back at the shortlist:

  • Damon Albarn – Everyday Robots
  • Bombay Bicycle Club – So Long, See You Tomorrow
  • Anna Calvi – One Breath
  • East India Youth – Total Strife Forever
  • FKA twigs – LP1
  • GoGo Penguin – v2.0
  • Jungle – Jungle
  • Nick Mulvey – First Mind
  • Polar Bear – In Each and Every One
  • Royal Blood – Royal Blood
  • Kate Tempest – Everybody Down
  • Young Fathers – Dead

The prize was presented by Nick Grimshaw to Young Fathers, which had apparently only sold a couple of thousand copies prior to its nomination. It will no doubt do a bit better now…

Here’s some of the coverage:

See also: Mercury Prize Winners 1992-2013Barclaycard Mercury Music Prize 2013, Barclaycard Mercury Prize 2012.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.