Ivor Novello Awards 2014

The 59th Ivor Novello Awards ceremony quietly took place on 22nd May at Grosvenor House in London.

PRS for Music Most Performed Work

Which is an oddly named award until you realise that “PRS for Music” is what the sponsoring organisation calls itself these days. Nominees:

  • Emeli Sandé – Clown (Shahid “Naughty Boy” Khan / Grant Mitchell / Emeli Sandé)
  • Passenger – Let Her Go (Mike Rosenberg)
  • Olly Murs feat. Flo Rida – Troublemaker (Claude Kelly / Oliver Murs / Steve Robson)

Winner: Passenger / Mike Rosenberg

The Ivors Classical Music Award

Winner: John McCabe

Best Television Soundtrack


  • Mr. Selfridge (Charlie Mole)
  • Ripper Street (Dominik Scherrer)
  • The Thirteenth Tale (Benjamin Wallfisch)

Winner: Charlie Mole for Ripper Street

Best Contemporary Song


  • Everything Everything – Kemosabe (Jonathan Higgs / Jeremy Pritchard / Alexander Robertshaw / Michael Spearman)
  • Disclosure feat. Sam Smith – Latch (Guy Lawrence / Howard Lawrence / James Napier / Sam Smith)
  • James Blake – Retrograde (James Blake)

Winner: James Blake

International Achievement

Winner: Mumford & Sons

Best Original Film Score


  • Captain Phillips (Henry Jackman)
  • Gravity (Steven Price)
  • The Epic of Everest (Simon Fisher Turner)

Winner: Simon Fisher Turner

The Ivors Inspiration Award

Winner: Jerry Dammers

Album Award


  • Arctic Monkeys – AM (Alex Turner)
  • Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Push the Sky Away (Nick Cave / Warren Ellis)
  • Laura Mvula – Sing to the Moon (Laura Mvula)

Winner: Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds

PRS for Music Outstanding Contribution to British Music

Winner: Jeff Beck

Best Song Musically and Lyrically


  • Palma Violets – Best of Friends (Will Doyle / Sam Fryer / Chilli Jesson / Pete Mayhew)
  • John Newman – Love Me Again (Steve Booker / John Newman)
  • London Grammar – Strong (Dominic Major / Hannah Reid / Daniel Rothman)

Winner: London Grammar

Songwriter of the Year

Winner: Tom Odell

Outstanding Song Collection

Winner: The Chemical Brothers

Lifetime Achievement

Winner: Christine McVie

PRS for Music Special International Award

Winner: Nile Rodgers

Visit the official Ivor Novello Awards website here, and you can see my summary of last year’s awards here.

3 thoughts on “Ivor Novello Awards 2014

  1. Pingback: Looking ahead at 2018 | Music for stowaways

  2. Pingback: Coming soon – Ivor Novello Awards | Music for stowaways

  3. Pingback: Ivor Novello Awards 2015 | Music for stowaways

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.