Mercury Music Prize 2001-2003

In an unprecedented move in 2001 Gorillaz decided to withdraw themselves from the running, before the awards finally took place just hours after the attacks of September 11th. Then the Mercury Music Prize celebrated its tenth anniversary in 2002.

Technics Mercury Music Prize 2001

Apparently Gorillaz felt the prize sounded “a bit heavy,” and would be akin to “carrying a dead albatross around your neck for eternity,” so asked to be removed from the running. This year’s ceremony took place on 11th September 2001.


  • Basement Jaxx – Rooty
  • Elbow – Asleep in the Back
  • Goldfrapp – Felt Mountain
  • Gorillaz – Gorillaz
  • Ed Harcourt – Here Be Monsters
  • PJ Harvey – Stories from the City, Stories from the Sea
  • Tom McRae – Tom McRae
  • Radiohead – Amnesiac
  • Susheela Raman – Salt Rain
  • Super Furry Animals – Rings Around the World
  • Turin Brakes – The Optimist LP
  • Zero 7 – Simple Things

Winner: PJ Harvey, who was unable to attend in person due to the being caught in Washington DC on the day of the September 11th terror attacks in the USA.

Panasonic Mercury Music Prize 2002

Took place on 17th September 2002 at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London.


  • Guy Barker – Soundtrack
  • The Bees – Sunshine Hit Me
  • David Bowie – Heathen
  • The Coral – The Coral
  • Doves – The Last Broadcast
  • The Electric Soft Parade – Holes in the Wall
  • Gemma Hayes – Night on My Side
  • Beverley Knight – Who I Am
  • Roots Manuva – Run Come Save Me
  • Joanna MacGregor – Play
  • Ms. Dynamite – A Little Deeper
  • The Streets – Original Pirate Material

Winner: Ms. Dynamite

Panasonic Mercury Music Prize 2003

Took place on 9th September 2003.


  • Athlete – Vehicles and Animals
  • Eliza Carthy – Anglicana
  • Coldplay – A Rush of Blood to the Head
  • The Darkness – Permission to Land
  • Dizzee Rascal – Boy in da Corner
  • Floetry – Floetic
  • Soweto Kinch – Conversations with the Unseen
  • Lemon Jelly – Lost Horizons
  • The Thrills – So Much for the City
  • Martina Topley-Bird – Quixotic
  • Radiohead – Hail to the Thief
  • Terri Walker – Untitled

Winner: Dizzee Rascal

Further information

1 thought on “Mercury Music Prize 2001-2003

  1. Pingback: Mercury Prize Winners 1992-2013 | Music for stowaways

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.