Ivor Novello Awards 2013

I’m sorry for the slight delay here – I’ve been meaning to sum up the 2013 Ivor Novello Awards for a few weeks, but have been unavoidably tied up in the real world.

It’s not a widely known ceremony, despite having run for nearly sixty years (since 1955). Part of the reason for this is that the awards are for actual songwriting, rather than things like performing, or wearing dresses made out of meat, like the more commercial award ceremonies. Perhaps one day we should dedicate a post to the history of these awards, but that day is not yet upon us.

This year, the ceremony took place at Grosvenor House in London way back on May 16th, and the nominees and winners were as follows:

Best Song Musically and Lyrically

The nominees:

  • Bat for Lashes – Laura (Natasha Khan / Justin Parker)
  • Emeli Sandé – Next to Me (Hugo Chegwin / Harry Craze / Emeli Sandé)
  • Jake Bugg – Two Fingers (Iain Archer / Jake Bugg)

Winner: Emeli Sandé

Best Contemporary Song

The nominees:

  • Alt-J – Fitzpleasure (Thomas Green / Joe Newman / Gwilym Sainsbury / Augustus Unger-Hamilton)
  • Plan B – Ill Manors (Pierre Baigorry / David Conen / Benjamin Drew / Vincent Graf-Schlippenbach / Al Shux)
  • The Maccabees – Pelican (Sam Doyle / Rupert Jarvis / Orlando Weeks / Felix White / Hugo White)

Winner: The Maccabees

PRS for Music Most Performed Work

The nominees:

  • Olly Murs – Dance with Me Tonight (Claude Kelly / Oliver Murs / Steve Robson)
  • Emeli Sandé – Next to Me
  • Coldplay – Paradise (Guy Berryman / Jonny Buckland / Will Champion / Chris Martin / Brian Eno)

Winner: Emeli Sandé

Album Award

The nominees:

  • Alt-J – An Awesome Wave (Thomas Green / Joe Newman / Gwilym Sainsbury / Augustus Unger-Hamilton)
  • Ben Howard – Every Kingdom (Ben Howard)
  • Lianne La Havas – Is Your Love Big Enough? (Lianne Barnes / Matthew Hales)

Winner: Alt-J

Best Original Film Score

The nominees:

  • Dario Marianelli – Anna Karenina
  • John Powell – Dr. Seuss’ The Lorax
  • Plan B – Ill Manors (Benjamin Drew / Al Shux)

Winner: Anna Karenina

Best Television Soundtrack

The nominees:

  • John Harle – Lucian Freud: Painted Life
  • John Lunn – The Mystery of Edwin Drood
  • Carl Davis – Upstairs Downstairs Series 2

Winner: Lucian Freud: Painted Life

Inspiration Award

Winner: Marc Almond

Outstanding Contribution

Presented by Ray Davies. Winner: Noel Gallagher

The Ivors Classical Music Award

Winner: Errolyn Wallen MBE

PRS for Music Award for Outstanding Achievement

Winner: Justin Hayward

International Achievement

Winner: Gavin Rossdale out of little-known Bush

Songwriter of the Year

Presented by Pete Tong. We continue. Winner: Calvin Harris

PRS for Music Special International Award

Winner: Randy Newman


And that’s it for 2013. Somewhere in among the numerous almost-identically-named awards are some quite interesting winners. No “outstanding” anything for Liam Gallagher, for example.

More coverage at DigitalSpy, The Guardian, and The Independent.

1 thought on “Ivor Novello Awards 2013

  1. Pingback: Ivor Novello Awards 2014 | Music for stowaways

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.